Publishing History > The Rise of Modern Europe (Harper & Row) - Book Series List

The Rise of Modern Europe
Publisher: Harper & Row. Country: United States. Date: 1930s- .

The Age of the Baroque (C J Friedrich) (Rise of Modern Europe series) (Harper & Row) (image)

The Age of the Baroque by Carl Joachim Friedrich

New York, Harper and Row, 1962 (The Rise of Modern Europe series)

Series Note:
This series was originally published in the 1930s. Each volume was a hardback with a dustjacket. Beginning in the 1960s the series was republished as paperbacks. The Rise of Modern Europe paperbacks are also part of the Harper Torchbooks series (that is promoted as "The University Library").

Arranged chronologically by period

E. P. Cheney. The Dawn of a New Era, 1250-1453.
M. P. Gilmore. The World of Humanism, 1453-1517.
E. H. Harbison. The Protestant Revolt, 1516-1560.
P. Hughes. The Catholic Reformation, 1560-1610.
(ALSO: M. R. C'Connell. The Counter Reformation, 1559-1610.)
C. J. Friedrich. The Age of the Baroque, 1610-1660.
F. L. Nussbaum. The Triumph of Science and Reason, 1660-1685.
J. B. Wolf. The Emergence of the Great Powers, 1685-1715.
P. Roberts. The Quest of Security, 1715-1740.
W. L. Dorn. Competition for Empire, 1740-1763.
L Gershoy. From Despotism to Revolution, 1789-1799.
C. Brinton. A Decade of Revolution, 1789-1799.
G. Bruun. Europe and the French Imperium, 1799-1814.
F. B. Artz. Reaction and Revolution, 1814-1832.
W. L. Langer. Liberalism, Nationalism and Socialism, 1832-1852.
R. C. Binkley. Realism and Nationalism, 1852-1871.
C. J. H. Hayes. A Generation of Materialism, 1871-1900.
O. J. Hale. The Great Illusion, 1900-1914.
B. Schmitt. The World in the Crucible, 1914-1919.
R. Sontag. Revolt against the Old Order, 1919-1939.
G. Wright. The Second World War, 1939 - .
(ALTERNATIVE TITLE: The Ordeal of Total War, 1939-1945.)

Share this page:

Author: David Paul Wagner
(David Paul Wagner on Google+)

HomeAbout UsContact UsPrivacyTerms of Use
© 2005-23 All Rights Reserved.