Publishing History > The Temple Shakespeare (J. M. Dent) - Book Series List

The Temple Shakespeare
Publisher: J. M. Dent. Country: United Kingdom. Date: 1894 - c. 1930.

Hamlet (The Temple Shakespeare) (image)

Shakespeare's Tragedy of Hamlet with Preface, Glossary, &c. by Israel Gollancz, M.A.
London: J. N. Dent & Sons, Ltd., New York: E. P. Dutton & Co., 1925
(The Temple Shakespeare)

Series Note: This series of forty-one small volumes was edited by Israel Gollancz (later Sir Israel Gollancz) (1864-1930). The text used was that of the Cambridge edition of Shakepeare.

Each volume may be described as follows:
-- title page richly illustrated and printed in black and red
-- frontispiece illustration faced with protective tissue paper
-- a preface, a glossary and notes
-- end papers printed in colour with Shakepeare family's heraldic coat of arms and their motto "Non Sans Droict" (Not Without Right)
-- red act and scene markings printed throughout the text
-- hardback -- bound either in maroon cloth or in soft burgundy leather
-- gilt top edge of pages and gilt title and decorations on spine
-- the Shakepeare family's coat of arms blind stamped on the front cover (sometimes coat of arms is printed in gilt on front cover)
-- sometimes blue silk book mark ribbon
-- size: 10.5 cm x 13.5 cm.

This series remained in print until at least 1930. In 1934 an updated version of the series was reissued as The New Temple Shakespeare.

Volume / Title

[v. 1] All's well that ends well
v. 2] Antony and Cleopatra
[v. 3] As you like it
[v. 4] Comedy of errors
[v. 5] Coriolanus
[v. 6] Cymbeline
[v. 7] Hamlet
[v. 8] Julius Caesar
[v. 9] King Henry IV. pt. 1
[v. 10] King Henry IV. pt. 2
[v. 11] King Henry V
[v. 12] King Henry VI. pt. 1
[v. 13] King Henry VI. pt. 2
[v. 14] King Henry VI. pt.3
[v. 15] King Henry VIII
[v. 16] Life and death of King John
[v. 17] King Richard II
[v. 18] King Richard III
[v. 19] King Lear
[v. 20] Love's labour's lost
[v. 21] Macbeth
[v. 22] Measure for measure
[v. 23] Merchant of Venice
[v. 24] Merry wives of Windsor
[v. 25] Midsummer night's dream
[v. 26] Much ado about nothing
[v. 27] Othello
[v. 28] Pericles
[v. 29] Rape of Lucrece. Lover's complaint. Phoenix and turtle
[v. 30] Romeo and Juliet
[v. 31] The songs
[v. 32] The sonnets
[v. 33] Taming of the shrew
[v. 34] The tempest
[v. 35] Twelfth night
[v. 36] Two gentlemen of Verona
[v. 37] Timon of Athens
[v. 38] Titus Andronicus
[v. 39] Troilus and Cressida
[v. 40] Venus and Adonis, &c. The passionate pilgrim
[v. 41] Winter's tale.

Share this page:

Author: David Paul Wagner
(David Paul Wagner on Google+)

HomeAbout UsContact UsPrivacyTerms of Use
© 2005-23 All Rights Reserved.