Publishing History > Red Swan Series (Interventions) - Book Series List

Red Swan Series
Publisher: Interventions. Place: Melbourne, Australia. Series Dates: 2019- .

A Natural Battleground by Bobbie Oliver (image)

A Natural Battleground : The Fight to Establish a Rail Heritage Centre at Western Australia's Midland Railway Workshops
by Bobbie Oliver
Melbourne: Interventions, 2019 (Red Swan Series).

Series Note: Interventions, the publisher of this series, was set up in 2015 to publish "socialist, left wing and anti-capitalist literature". The publishing house sees itself in a tradition that includes the Australasian Book Society (1940s-60s) which was associated with the Communist Party of Australia and provided publishing opportunities for new writers (mostly of a leftist persuasion) such as Dorothy Hewett and Frank Hardy "at a time when new and left wing writers were unable to find a commercial publisher". It also sees itself as carrying on the work of the more recent Jeff Goodbar Project which similarly published works with substantial progressive or leftist content "without compromising the political content of the work". (Source)

Series Number / Title / Author / Publication Year / Other Details

A Natural Battleground : The Fight to Establish a Rail Heritage Centre at Western Australia’s Midland Railway Workshops 
by Bobbie Oliver
Paperback. 132 pages : illustrations (some colour), portraits (some colour) ; 21 cm. Includes bibliographic references (pages 119-126) and index. ISBN: 9780994537843

Radical Perth, Militant Fremantle 
edited by Charlie Fox, Alexis Vassiley, Bobbie Oliver and Lenore Layman

First edition 2017 by Black Swan Press.
This Red Swan (Interventions) edition is the second updated edition with new chapters.
Paperback. iv, 435 pages : illustrations (some colour), maps ; 21 cm. Includes bibliographical references (pages 405-428). ISBN: 9780994537874

Author of this page: David Paul Wagner

HomeAbout UsContact UsPrivacyTerms of Use
© 2005-23 All Rights Reserved.