Publishing History > Peter Rabbit Series (Frederick Warne & Co.) - Book Series List

Peter Rabbit Series
Publisher: Frederick Warne & Co. Country: U.K. Date: 1902-30.

The Tale of Peter Rabbit (by Beatrix Potter) (image)

The Tale of Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter

London and New York: Frederick Warne, c. 1933 (originally published 1902)
Hardback. Size: 16mo. Tan paper boards with mounted cover illustration. Charming colour frontispiece and 26 delightful illustrations throughout the text.

This was Beatrix Potter's first book. The tale of Peter Rabbit was born in 1893 when the author tried to cheer Noel, a sick child of a former governess, by writing him a letter beginning as follows: "My dear Noel, I shall tell you a story about four little rabbits, whose names were Flopsy, Mopsy, Cottontail and Peter."

Series Note:
These 23 delightful children's books were written by Beatrix Potter. The series was published by Frederick Warne & Co. of London.

Arranged alphabetically by author and title

The Tale of Peter Rabbit (1902)

The Tale of Squirrel Nutkin (1903)

The Tailor of Gloucester (1903)

The Tale of Benjamin Bunny (1904)

The Tale of Two Bad Mice (1904)

The Tale of Mrs. Tiggy-Winkle (1905)

The Tale of the Pie and the Patty-Pan (1905)

The Tale of Mr. Jeremy Fisher (1906)

The Story of A Fierce Bad Rabbit (1906)

The Story of Miss Moppet (1906)

The Tale of Tom Kitten (1907)

The Tale of Jemima Puddle-Duck (1908)

The Tale of Samuel Whiskers or, The Roly-Poly Pudding (1908)

The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies (1909)

The Tale of Ginger and Pickles (1909)

The Tale of Mrs. Tittlemouse (1910)

The Tale of Timmy Tiptoes (1911)

The Tale of Mr. Tod (1912)

The Tale of Pigling Bland (1913)

Appley Dapply's Nursery Rhymes (1917)

The Tale of Johnny Town-Mouse (1918)

Cecily Parsley's Nursery Rhymes (1922)

The Fairy Caravan (1929)

The Tale of Little Pig Robinson (1930)

Share this page:

Author: David Paul Wagner
(David Paul Wagner on Google+)

HomeAbout UsContact UsPrivacyTerms of Use
© 2005-23 All Rights Reserved.