Publishing History > Kitabha-i Talai (Golden Library) (Amir Kabir) - Book Series List

Kitabha-i Talai (Golden Library)
Publisher: Amir Kabir Publishers. Place: Tehran, Iran. Series Dates: 1960s-1970s.

Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain (image)

Tam Sayir [= Tom Sawyer]
by Mark Twain
Tehran, Iran: Amir Kabir Publishers, c. 1960-1965. Series: Kitabha-i Talai (Golden Library).

Series Note: This was a widely loved children's series published in the 1960s and 1970s of about 80 great classics of the world's literature. The name of the series, Kitabha-i Talai, is the transliteration of Farsi (Persian) words which translated into English mean "golden library".

The text in each volume was in the Farsi (Persian) language and presented a simplified and abridged version of its classic. Each volume featured a gold-coloured front cover on which was a coloured drawing. Some of the 80 titles appear in the list below.

The series was relaunched in about 2022 with 16 volumes being issued.

Further reading:

Title / Author

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
by Mark Twain

The Blue Diamond

The Brave Little Tailor
by the Brothers Grimm

David Copperfield
by Charles Dickens

Don Quixote
by Miguel de Cervantes

by Johanna Spyri

The Last of the Mohicans
by James Fenimore Cooper

Lorna Doone
by R. D. Blackmore

by Herman Melville

The Mysterious Island
by Jules Verne

Odysseus and the Cyclops
by Homer

The Prince and the Pauper
by Mark Twain

The Proud Little Tailor
by the Brothers Grimm

Snow-White and Rose-Red
by the Brothers Grimm

The Swiss Family Robinson
by Johann David Wyss

Tom Sawyer
by Mark Twain

The Travels of Marco Polo
by Marco Polo

Treasure Island
by Robert Louis Stevenson

Author of this page: David Paul Wagner

HomeAbout UsContact UsPrivacyTerms of Use
© 2005-23 All Rights Reserved.