Publishing History > Everest Series (Pilgrims Publishing) - Book Series List

Everest Series
Publisher: Pilgrims Publishing.
Country: India and Nepal. Date: 2003-05.

Mount Everest 1938 - Tillman (Everest Series/Pilgrims Publishing) (image)

Mount Everest, 1938

by H. W. Tillman
Varanasi, Pilgrims Publishing, 2004.
Paperback. 160 pages.

About the Book:
Following the abortive attempts on Mount Everest that had taken place in 1921, 1922, 1924 and 1933, 1935 and 1936, Tilman and his small party set out in 1938 for a fifth attempt on this peak.

About the Author:
Harold William 'Bill' Tilman (1898-1977) was among the greatest adventurers of his time, a pioneering mountaineer and sailor who held exploration above all else. Tilman joined the army at seventeen and was twice awarded the Military Cross for bravery during WWI. After the war Tilman left for Africa, establishing himself as a coffee grower. He met Eric Shipton and began their famed mountaineering partnership, traversing Mount Kenya and climbing Kilimanjaro. Turning to the Himalaya, Tilman went on two Mount Everest expeditions, reaching 27,000 feet without oxygen in 1938. In 1936 he made the first ascent of Nanda Devi-the highest mountain climbed until 1950. He was the first European to climb in the remote Assam Himalaya, he delved into Afghanistan's Wakhan Corridor and he explored extensively in Nepal, all the while developing a mountaineering style characterised by its simplicity and emphasis on exploration. It was perhaps logical then that Tilman would eventually buy the pilot cutter Mischief -- not with the intention of retiring from travelling, but to access remote mountains. For twenty-two years Tilman sailed Mischief and her successors to Patagonia, where he crossed the vast ice cap, and to Baffin Island to make the first ascent of Mount Raleigh. He made trips to Greenland, Spitsbergen and the South Shetlands, before disappearing in the South Atlantic Ocean in 1977.

(Source: Publisher's advertisement.)

Series Note:
A reprint series of the great classic works on mountaineering on Mt. Everest in the Himalayas.

This series was published by Pilgrims Publishing of Varanasi (India), Kathmandu (Nepal), and Delhi (India), the same firm that since 1984 has operated the legendary bookstore, Pilgrims Book House, in Kathmandu.

Title / Author

The Assault on Mount Everest, 1922
by C. G. Bruce.

Attack on Everest
by Hugh Ruttledge.

The Epic of Mount Everest
by Sir Francis Younghusband.

Everest from the First Attempt to the Final Victory
by Micheline Morin.

Everest: The Challenge
by Sir Francis Younghusband.

The Fight for Everest, 1924
by E. F. Norton [Edward Felix Norton]

First Over Everest: The Houston Mount Everest Expedition, 1933
by P. F. M Fellowes and other members of the Expedition.

Man of Everest: The Autobiography of Tenzing
by James Ramsay Ullman.

Mount Everest, 1938
by H. W. Tilman.

Mount Everest: The Reconnaissance, 1921
by C. K. Howard-Bury.

Share this page:

Author: David Paul Wagner
(David Paul Wagner on Google+)

HomeAbout UsContact UsPrivacyTerms of Use
© 2005-23 All Rights Reserved.