Publishing History > Delphin Classics (A. J. Valpy) - Book Series List

Delphin Classics
Publisher: A. J. Valpy. Country: United Kingdom. Date: 1819-30.

M. Tulii Ciceronis Opera. Vol. IV. (Delphin Classics/A. J. Valpy) (image)

M. Tullii Ciceronis Libri Rhetorici
Ex Editione J. Aug. Ernesti cum Notis et Interpretatione in Usum Delphini
Variis Lectionibus Notis Variorum
Recensu Editionum et Codicum et Indicibus Locupletissimis
Accurate Recensiti
Volumen Quartum.

Short title: M. Tulii Ciceronis Opera. Vol. IV.
[Works of M. Tullius Cicero. Vol. IV.)

London: A. J. Valpy, 1830 (Delphin Classics, v. 23).

Series Note: The Delphin Series of the Latin classics was published by Abraham John Valpy (1787-1854). This series was edited by George Dyer.

The series was modelled on the celebrated Delphin edition of the Latin classics that had been published during the reign of King Louis XIV of France. That series was created for the education of Louis, le Grand Dauphin, heir to Louis XIV, and the series name, "Delphin", derived from the word "Dauphin", refers to that.

In preparing their books for publication Valpy and Dyer utilised the most reliable texts, interpretations, and indices of the 18th century French Delphin edition and supplemented those with the best variorum editions and literary notes from late 18th century editions such as the Zweibrücken (Bipontine) editions and the Variorum Classics.

Valpy's Delphin Series attracted 600 subscribers and was a commercial success. However, scholars soon criticised the series as having little originality and little critical rigour. One critic attacked the series as "this ramshackle assembling of old and in many cases virtually obsolete material".

Author / Title / English translation of title / Year of publication / Number of volumes

Opera omnia [Complete Works].
1825. 7 volumes.

Aurelius [Aurelius Victor Sextus].
Historia Romana [Roman History].
1829. 2 volumes.

Aulus Gellius.
Noctes Atticae [Attic Nights].
1824. 4 volumes.

Ausonius [Decimus Magnus Ausonius].
Opera Omnia [Complete Works].
1823. 3 volumes.

Boethius [Anicius Manlius Severinus Boethius].
De Consolatione Philosophiae [The Consolation of Philosophy].
1823. 1 volume.

Julius Caesar [Gaius Julius Caesar].
Opera Omnia [Complete Works].
1819. 5 volumes.

Catullus [Gaius Valerius Catullus].
Opera Omnia [Complete Works].
1822. 2 volumes.

Cicero [Marcus Tullius Cicero].
Opera [Works].
1830. 15 volumes.

Claudian [Claudius Claudianus].
Opera Omnia [Complete Works].
1821. 4 volumes.

Cornelius Nepos.
Vitae excellentium imperatorum. [Lives of the Excellent Commanders].
1822. 2 volumes.

Curtius [Quintus Curtius Rufus].
De Rebus gestis Alexandri Magni libri superstites. [All the Books That Survive of the Histories of Alexander the Great of Macedon].
1825. 4 volumes.

Dares Phrygius and Dictys Cretensis [Dictys of Crete].
De Bello Trojano [The Trojan War].
1825. 1 volume.

Eutropius [Flavius Eutropius].
Breviarium historiae Romanae [Abridgment of Roman History].
1821. 1 volume.

Festus (Sextus Pompeius Festus.
De Verborum Significatione [On the Meaning of Words].
1826. 3 volumes.

Florus [Lucius Annaeus Florus].
Epitome Rerum Romanarum [Epitome of Roman History.
1822. 2 volumes.

Horace [Quintus Horatius Flaccus].
Opera Omnia [Complete Works].
1825. 5 volumes.

Justin [Marcus Junianus Justinus].
Historiae Philippicae [Philippic Histories].
1822. 2 volumes.

Juvenal [Decimus Iunius Iuvenalis].
Opera Omnia [Complete Works].
1820. 3 volumes.

Livy [Titus Livius].
Historiarum Libri Qui Supersunt. [History Books Which Have Survived].
1828. 27 volumes.

Lucretius [Titus Lucretius Carus].
De Rerum Natura Libri Sex. [Six Books on the Nature of Things].
1823. 4 volumes.

Marcus Manilus.
Astronomicon [Astrology].
1828. 2 volumes.

Martial [Marcus Valerius Martialis].
Epigrammata [Epigrams].
1823. 3 volumes.

Ovid [Publius Ovidius Naso].
Opera Omnia [Complete Works].
1821. 10 volumes.

Marcus Velleius Paterculus.
Historia Romana [Roman History].
1822. 1 volume.

Phaedrus [Gaius Julius Phaedrus; Phaedrus Augustus Libertus].
Fabulae Aesopiae [Fables of Aesop].
1822. 2 volumes.

Plautus [Titus Maccius Plautus].
Comoediae [Comedies].
1829. 5 volumes.

Pliny the Elder [Gaius Plinius Secundus].
Naturalis Historiae Libri XXXVII [36 Books of Natural History; also known as: Natural History]
1826. 15 volumes (being 14 volumes of text and 1 volume of plates)..

Propertius [Sextus Propertius; Sextus Aurelius Propertius].
Opera Omnia [Complete Works].
1822. 2 volumes.

Prudentius [Aurelius Prudentius Clemens].
Opera Omnia [Complete Works].
1824. 3 volumes.

Sallust [Gaius Sallustius Crispus].
Opera Omnia [Complete Works].
1820. 2 volumes.

Christian Gottlieb Schwarz and Jan Arntzenius, eds..
Panegyrici Veteres [Old Panegyrics].
1828. 6 volumes.

Statius [Publius Papinius Statius].
Opera Omnia [Complete Works].
1824. 4 volumes.

Suetonius [Gaius Suetonius Tranquillus].
Opera Omnia [Complete Works].
1826. 3 volumes.

Tacitus [Publius Cornelius Tacitus; Gaius Cornelius Tacitus].
Opera Omnia [Complete Works].
1821. 10 volumes.

Terence [Publius Terentius Afer].
Comoediae Sex [Six Comedies].
1824. 4 volumes.

Tibullus [Albius Tibullus].
Opera Omnia [Complete Works].
1822. 1 volume.

Valerius Maximus.
Factorum Dictorumque Memorabilium Libri Novem [Nine Books on Memorable Deeds and Sayings].
1823. 3 volumes.

Virgil [Publius Vergilius Maro; Vergil].
Opera Omnia [Complete Works].
1819. 9 volumes.

Share this page:

Author: David Paul Wagner
(David Paul Wagner on Google+)

HomeAbout UsContact UsPrivacyTerms of Use
© 2005-23 All Rights Reserved.